Posted by: lexyknits | December 5, 2007

Holiday Gift Plan

I am trying to avoid shopping for a single Christmas gift this year. I am making (knitting) virtually everything and I thought I’d share my list and time-line:

Boy – Felted Clogs 
status: finished 11/24

Mom – I’m vacillating between another pair of Felted Clogs or Fetching Mitts
status: haven’t started

Dad – No plans

Brother – No plans

Grandpa S – Generic hat pattern using Misti Alpaca Worsted
Status: finished 12/2

Grandma S – White Mittens using Encore Chunky and Collinette Parisian held together
Status: 90% finished

Aunt Nyla: Pink Mitts
Status: haven’t started

Aunt Rena: Purple Mitts
Status: haven’t started

Uncle Ray: Generic ribbed hat
Status: haven’t started

Friend Shannon: Pirate Mitts with name (Sha) instead of year. Knit with Knit Picks Telemark in Aubergine and Snow Leopard
Status: Finished 12/4

Friend Jess: Same Pirate Mitts with name instead of year.
Status: Not started

Okay so I have three weeks to complete six gifts… yikes! I need to get on the stick.

I think I will cop out and purchase DVDs for my dad and brother. However I won’t “go shopping” for them, I’ll pick things up when I’m at Fred Meyers doing my grocery shopping. So there. I have no idea what to make for the boys. Also I have no yarn in the stash that’s appropriate for boy gifts and I’m too poor to buy new yarn at the moment.

Too poor because I just bought This Yarn which, once I finish Xmas knitting, will be made into a lace scarf from Victorian Lace Today. I haven’t decided which scarf yet. Any suggestions? 

Leave a Reply

Categories

