Posted by: lexyknits | January 3, 2008

Awesome Christmas Gift

So my mom got me the only thing I asked for and have been asking for for about 3 months.

christmas present

Isn’t it great? I am a slow cooking fiend now. I made Pot Roast on Tuesday and Spareribs last night and tomorrow I’m making Chicken Cacciatore. I haven’t figured out what to use to little dipper for. I mean dips obviously, but I’m not much of a dip person, there must be some other use for the adorable mini crokpot… any suggestions?

I like it a lot, so far I have only cooked on the high setting because I can’t seem to get anything in there more than 8 hours before I need it. If I ever need to purchase another slow cooker I think I’d go for the All-Clad model with the programmable timer and shiznit.

Responses

  1. Hey, I got a Crockpot for Christmas too – I had to exchange mine, so my new one should come in the mail this week and I am SO EXCITED!!!

    I’ve been trying to eat a little healthier (because canned soup and eggs only get you so far), but I just can’t bring myself to cook anything when I get home from work (my hours are often long).

    So yay! Congratulations! πŸ˜€

  2. πŸ™‚ congrats on your new toy! my brother got me a Crock pot cookbook to go with it (365 Slow Cook Recipes I believe is the name) and it’s been very helpful in menu planning. food.com has some good recipes too.

  3. I use my mini-crock to cook beans overnight (MUCH cheaper and less sodium than canned beans) and mulled cider. Man, it was a great buy, if only for the SMELL of the cider brewing.

  4. Alton Brown had a neat recipe for cooking scottish oatmeal in a crockpot overnight, so you had a tasty breakfast all ready in the morning.
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,,FOOD_9936_17138,00.html

    Cut the recipe in fourths, and you’d have a nice size for the little pot. πŸ™‚

  5. I read that you can plug a crockpot into those thing you use for programming your lights if you’re going to be away. Then as long as you’re cooking something that can sit for up to 4 hrs before it starts to cook, then it will sit there and start up by itself.

    I have one of those little pots too….I fill it with water, cloves, cinnamon sticks, bay leaves, orange peels and simmer it. Works better in the winter months, people might look at you funny in July if your house smells like Christmas.


Leave a Reply

Categories

