Posted by: lexyknits | May 13, 2008

Delicious Flat Iron Steak

Since lot’s of people came over today from my recipe at Shakesville I thought I’d post a reward recipe for super delicious flat iron steak.

I like to let this marinate for at least an hour but if you can go for 3 or 4 hours it will be even better.

Ingredients:

2lb flat iron steak

marinade-
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/3 cup Rice Vinegar
2 tsp hot sauce
2 tsp worcetershire sauce
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Seasoning-
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp coarse ground pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp chile powder

 

whisk together sugar, vinegar, hot sauce, worcestershire and then slowly add vegetable oil while whisking. Pour marinade into a large ziploc bag, add the steak, squish it around until combined and refrigerate for at least an hour, but 5-6 hours is better.

Pre-heat a grill-pan (or grill) on medium high heat. Remove the steak from the bag, pat dry and sprinkle seasoning mixture over both sides. For medium grill 5 minutes on first side and 3 minutes on second.

Slice thinly against the grain. Serve with horseradish mashed potatoes (recipe coming soon! But I bet you can figure it out cuz ur sMrt) and cesar salad.

YUM!

I also have a vaguely political post brewing in my noggin but who knows when I’ll figure out how to put it into words.

 

Responses

  1. lexy, i have no idea what the name of my gammy anna’s magical tool is. i have never before or since seen one anywhere except her kitchen, and now mine.

    my kids always called it “the egg wand” which i thought charming for its magical implications.

    dipped in soap solution it makes a gang of fun bubbles too.

  2. Your flat iron steak recipe is delish!! Hope you don’t mind if I use it in our RV newsletter next month. I’m doing an article on the fab Flat Iron.
    I’ll send you a copy if you wish.
    Hugs,
    Maryanne


Leave a Reply

Categories

